Southern Iowa Tourism is a group of volunteer Tourism Groups, Chambers of Commerce, and Development Groups dedicated to promoting tourism across southern Iowa. Founded in 1988, the organization now consists of five counties including Adair, Clarke, Ringgold, Taylor, and Union. In February of 1992, the group published its first tourism guide, printing 50,000 copies and distributing them across the state. The group was awarded the Iowa Governor’s Volunteer Award in 1991 for their hard work in promoting Iowa.

Over the years, the volunteer organization has continued to publish and distribute the annual tabloid at travel shows, the Iowa State Fair, and locally throughout the participating counties. Events, festivals and celebrations are listed in the Calendar of Events, while individual activities and tourist attractions are shown in editorials throughout the tabloid.